Ambregris
ACCUEIL DOCUMENTATION IDENTIFICATION VENDRE L'AMBRE
 

DOCUMENTATION SUR L'AMBRE GRIS

DESCRIPTIF:
L' ambre gris est une sécrétion pathologique d' un cachalot très répandu : Physeter macrocephalus, due semble-t-il à l' irritation de l' estomac par les becs de calamars et certains crustacés. L' animal libère l' ambre spontanément.

Fraîchement expulsé, l' ambre possède généralement une couleur noirâtre foncée, une consistance molle, une odeur nauséabonde. Sous l' action simultanée de l' eau de mer et de l' atmosphère, l' ambre prend une teinte de plus en plus claire, gris argent à jaune or, et il finit par devenir presque blanc. Son odeur s' affine, elle devient suave, très agréable, caractéristique.

La bactérie "Spirillum recti physeteris" est présumée responsable de l' émission de cette agréable odeur d' ambre gris dans l' appareil digestif du cachalot. Les cachalots sont sujets à des coliques et quand ils se chauffent tranquillement en surface, il est possible d' entendre d' énormes gargouillements provenant de leurs entrailles, ponctués par des rots monstrueux qui peuvent être entendus sur de grandes distances en mer.

HISTOIRE DE L'AMBREGRIS
L' ambre gris est connu et estimé comme article de commerce impérial en Afrique depuis 1000 av. J. C. A la même époque, les chinois connaissaient l' ambre gris sous le nom de lung sien hiang, "parfum de la bave du dragon", qui était supposé provenir de dragons dormant en mer sur des rochers et bavant dans l' océan.

L' ambre gris était bien connu des anciens Égyptiens qui l' utilisaient comme encens. Au 10ème siècle Ibn Haukal, un commerçant arabe, le classait en valeur avec l' or et les esclaves noirs et mentionnait ses propriétés aphrodisiaques.

L' ambre gris, qui se conserve assez mal, était utilisé, au Proche Orient et à Rome, dans la fabrication de parfums et entrait aussi dans les recettes de la pharmacopée. En Asie on employa l' ambre gris comme épice dans la cuisine. Les turcs le considéraient comme la plus agréable offrande à Râla, et en emportaient avec eux pour le pèlerinage de leur vie à la Mecque. Le nom vient de l' arabe"Anbar".

Attention : ne pas confondre avec l' ambre jaune, résine fossile d' arbres qui vivaient il y a 40 millions d' années, et dont le commerce était florissant dans l' Antiquité.

Découvertes historiques de blocs d' ambre gris :
- "The bark Splendid of Dunedin", fut trouvé en Nouvelle Zélande en 1883 ; il pesait 983 livres et était estimé à 25,000 dollars.
- Le 24 décembre 1908 un bloc d' ambre gris pesant 1003 livres, le plus gros jamais trouvé, fut rapporté par les baleiniers de Larvik en Norvège.
- Un autre bloc pesant 926 livres fut trouvé dans l' antarctique par le bateau baleinier " Southern Harvester " en 1953.
- La station espagnole de pêche à la baleine de Getares dans les îles Malouines trouva un cachalot avec un morceau d' ambre gris de 304 livres in 1927, lequel fut vendu à des Norvégiens, propriétaires de la seule compagnie baleinière des îles Malouines, pour 400.000 couronnes, prix considéré comme outrageant (il n' est pas mentionné si c' était trop cher ou pas assez).

LANGUAGE NOMS
Allemand Grauer Amber
Anglais Ambergris
Espagnol Ambàr gris
Français Ambre Gris
Italien Ambra Grigia

DESCRIPTION OLFAVTIVE:
Ambrée, musquée, chaude, animale, marine, note tabac. Le principal constituant de l' ambre gris est l' ambréine, qui sous l' action conjuguée de la lumière et de l' air forme, parmi d' autres produits odorants, un ambre de grande valeur et des actionnes, aldéhydes et cétones floraux. Aujourd'hui l' ambre gris est remplacé par des produits synthétiques dans l' industrie des parfums.

UTILISATION DE L'AMBRE GRIS:
Utilisé en trace dans la parfumerie, il sert plutôt, comme le musc ou la civette, à fixer et à exalter d' autres parfums trop délicats et trop fugaces. Il est trop cher pour être employé en savonnerie. Le guide de parfumerie Poucher classe plusieurs qualités et types d' ambre gris et note qu' il donne un certain velouté aux parfums fins haut de gamme. C' est un bon fixateur de senteurs florales, et une mouillette tient pendant plusieurs mois.

Pour plus d'information contacter: ambergrisfr@gmail.com

Ambregris cachalot

Ambergris achat et expertise mondialement I www.ambergris.fr & www.ambre-gris.com I Copyright 2005-2011

HOMEPAGE DOCUMENTATION IS IT AMBERGRIS SELLING AMBER
 

DOCUMENTATION ON AMBERGRIS

DESCRIPTION:
Ambergris is a pathological secretion of the widespread spermwhale, Physeter macrocephalus, due seemingly to the irritation of the stomach by the beaks of squid and certain shellfish. The animal releases amber spontaneously.

Freshly expelled, amber generally has a dark blackish colour, a flabby consistency and a nauseating odour. Under the simultaneous action of sea water and the atmosphere, amber takes on a lighter and lighter tinge, silver-grey to golden yellow, and at last it becomes almost white. Its smell becomes refined, sweet, very pleasant and characteristic.

The bacterium "Spirillum recti physeteris" is thought responsible for the production of the pleasant odour principle of amber gris in the gut of the sperm whale. Sperm whales are notorious sufferers from colic and when they are basking on the surface quietly it is easy to hear great rumblings in their gut punctuated by monumental belches that can be heard at great distances over the sea.

HISTORY:
Ambergris was known and considered as an imperial trade article in Africa as early as 1000 B.C. During the same period, the Chinese knew ambergris as "lung sien hiang" or "dragon's spittle fragrance", which was supposed to come from the spittle of sea dragons sleeping on sea rocks and drooling into the ocean.

Ambregris was well known to the ancient Egyptians who used it as incense.

In the 10th century Ibn Haukal, an Arab trader, classed it in value with gold and black slaves and referred to its reputed aphrodisiac properties.

Amber that had been badly kept was used, in the Near East and Rome, in perfume making; it also went into recipes of the pharmacopoeia. In Asia, ambre gris was employed as a spice in cooking. The Turks considered it the most pleasing offering to Allah to bring with them on their life pilgrimage to Mecca.

Note: do not confuse with yellow amber, the fossil resin of a tree living 40 millions years ago, and whose trade was flourishing in Antiquity.
The name comes from the Arabic "Anbar".

Historical records of ambergris lump discoveries:
- In 1883, sailors on the bark "Splendid" of Dunedin, New Zealand found a very large block of amber gris; it weighed 983 lb. and was worth $25,000.
- On December 24, 1908 a "boulder" of ambergris weighing 1003 lb., the largest ever found, was brought in by the whalers of Larvik in Norway.
- Another lump which weighed 926 lb. was found in the Antarctic by the whaling ship "Southern Harvester" in 1953.
- The Spanish whaling station Getares on the Falkland Islands found a whale with a 304 lb. lump of ambregris in 1927 that it sold to the Norwegians, owners of the only other whaling company in the Falklands, for Kr400,000, considered an outrageous price (high or low is not mentioned).

LANGUAGE NAMES
German Grauer Amber
English Ambergris
Spanish Ambàr gris
French Ambre Gris
Italian Ambra Grigia

AMBERGRIS COLLECTION:
The Spermwhale that produces Amber is so called for the large amount of fine and valuable oil that is found behind its head (oil of spermaceti).

This animal was an enormous source of raw materials before the advent of chemical industry at the beginning of the century (oil, meat, fat, bones etc...) but was not hunted for the Ambergris because that substance is naturally regurgitated by the animal and floats on the oceanic streams to reach the beaches.

OLFACTIVE DESCRIPTION:
Amber, musky, warm, animal, sea, with a tobacco note. The main constituent of ambergris is the alcohol ambrein, which upon exposure to light and air, oxidizes to form, among other odoriferous products, very valuable amber and floral lactones, aldehydes, and ketones. Today, a percentage of ambergris has been replaced by synthetic products in the perfume industry.

USE IN PERFUME:
Used in trace amounts in perfumes, it serves, like musk or civet, for fixing and for exalting other delicate and evanescent fragrance notes. It is too expensive to be used in soaps. The perfumer Poucher defines several grades and types of ambergris and notes that it imparts a velvetiness to fine and expensive perfumes. It is a good fixative for floral scents and one drop on a piece of paper can last for months in the open.

For further information: ambergrisfr@gmail.com

Ambergris Spermwhale

Ambergris expertise & buying worldwide I www.ambergris.fr & www.ambre-gris.com I Copyright 2005-2011